How do I fill from one CO2 tank to another?


Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How do I fill from one CO2 tank to another?

  1. #1
    Science-y Motherfuckerâ„¢ PseudoChef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West Chicago 'Burbs
    Posts
    11,969

    Default How do I fill from one CO2 tank to another?

    So, my new lab uses tons of CO2 (and, as disgusting as it is, their bulk contract allows 50lb tank refills for ~$9). The lab manager said I was welcome to use it, but I'm unsure of any equipment I would need to regulate a tank-to-tank fill, and if it would be worth it for potentially free CO2.

    Anyone have any experience in this department?


    Quote Originally Posted by cheesefood View Post
    Ok, there's you who calls himself a chef.

  2. #2
    NoonInGodinTepe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    195

    Default

    My buddy runs a paintball field, and he refilled my CO2 with a simple tank to tank hose with fittings.
    Noon in New York doesn't come soon enough!

    http://ancientopedia.com/Beer/

  3. #3
    Chief MLF Inspector Milf Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,617

    Default

    To get the maximum amount in your tank, be sure to toss it in the freezer ahead of time.

    It will allow more gas in it.

    Cheers,

    MILF Man
    Celebrating my 33rd year of Homebrewing.

  4. #4
    NoonInGodinTepe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    195

    Default

    Or you can chill it by wasting a little gas -- you put just a little gas in, then let it out quick! Then fill it.
    Noon in New York doesn't come soon enough!

    http://ancientopedia.com/Beer/

  5. #5
    Lifetime Supporter
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6,679

    Default

    I believe the source tank will need to have a dip tube inside to transfer liquid CO2. If not, it will have to be turned upside down...they do this at my club shop, and it always make me nervous to watch.

  6. #6
    Science-y Motherfuckerâ„¢ PseudoChef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West Chicago 'Burbs
    Posts
    11,969

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlindLemonLars View Post
    I believe the source tank will need to have a dip tube inside to transfer liquid CO2. If not, it will have to be turned upside down...they do this at my club shop, and it always make me nervous to watch.
    Is it not just pressurized gas to another cylinder?
    Quote Originally Posted by cheesefood View Post
    Ok, there's you who calls himself a chef.

  7. #7
    Lifetime Supporter
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    6,679

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PseudoChef View Post
    Is it not just pressurized gas to another cylinder?
    With a gas only transfer, you'll end up with very little volume in the recipient container...you want to transfer liquid. That's why it helps to chill the smaller cylinder, so the liquid doesn't boil back to gas when it hits warm metal

    I've done propane transfers this way from an inverted BBQ cylinder to a little camping tank. It works OK, but you've got to find a way to hold the big tank in a stable manner. I imagine it would be pretty scary holding a 50lb CO2 tank upside down!

  8. #8

    Default CO2 is a weird gas???

    At standard temperature ranges, the majority of C02 in any tank is present as a liquid and it "boils" to produce gas (at 80 degrees F the pressure of a CO2 cylinder will always read about 880 psi until it is all but empty). CO2 tanks come from gas suppliers in two forms, Dip Tube (Delivers liquid) or no Dip Tube (Delivers Gas). The CO2 bottles most homebrewers use don't have dip tubes so if you want to deliver liquid, you must invert the tank. If you are going to be doing a lot of refills, order a tank with a dip tube, it is safer than running the risk of snapping off your shutoff or transfer apparatus when a tank drops on its neck (imagine a 50 lb rocket flying around your garage). At 880 psi it is somewhat less dangerous than a compressed air or oxegen cylinder that usually are around 5000 psi, but I guarantee it will ruin your day either way.

Similar Threads

  1. Does anybody fill their cornies through the diptube
    By mr x in forum Brewing Equipment & Techniques
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 05:03 PM
  2. Got to fill the last carboy.
    By Redweasel in forum The Mash
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-13-2009, 03:48 AM
  3. Fill those fermenters!
    By PseudoChef in forum Recipe/Style/Ingredient Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-24-2009, 03:49 AM
  4. Fill 'er up, Coors
    By Barley-Davidson in forum Community Chatter
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2008, 03:29 PM
  5. Maryland growler fill WTF??
    By Lerxst in forum The Mash
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-05-2008, 03:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •